Posted by: scottdeal | September 29, 2009

Blog Post 1: “Castaway”

The Castaway commercial by FedEx uses comedy to capture the viewer’s attention. This commercial lets the customer know that no matter what FedEx will deliver their package. Castaway, a famous movie, was about a FedEx plane that crashed and the lone survivor was stranded on an island. The survivor, played by Tom Hanks, used the packages from the plane to survive. The man in the commercial portrayed Hanks who had long hair and a beard. He delivered a package to a woman living in a nice quiet suburban neighborhood. As a FedEx deliveryman, he promised to deliver the package no matter what. He did not open it because it was his duty to follow through and successfully deliver the package. This shows the viewer they can trust FedEx and their employees to keep their package safe and deliver it at all costs. The man had one last request after delivering the package and that was to know the contents inside. The lady who made it seem as if it were no big deal opened and showed him a satellite phone, a global positioning system, a water purifier, and other necessary needs to survive on an island. This added humor to the commercial because he could have been off the island much sooner if he opened the package. The dramatic music set the tone for the commercial viewer to understand how hard the deliveryman worked to get that package to its rightful owner. This simple commercial idea gave the viewer a good laugh but also got the point across that you can trust your packages with the FedEx family.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alSQpinagp0


Responses

  1. I must admit that I have never heard of this movie in my life, nor have I ever seen the commercial. But upon reading your review, which I thought was well written and nicely down I had a better understanding of the commercial and movie. Once I knew about the movie, the commercial for fed ex made much more sense, and was actually a little funnier. I thought the ending was quite hilarious, but rather sad too. I also felt that the Fed-ex company might have gone too far with saying the man had spent five years on the island. Very unbelievable if you ask me, I don’t think there is a single man in the world that would not open up the box in that long of a time period. There are also some other things I didn’t like, like the commercials was over 40 seconds, way too long! But overall I thought you wrote a great review, and your insight on the topic showed.


Leave a comment

Categories